top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureErica Miner

Experience Swedish culture in the grocery store

I always find it interesting how you can see different aspects of a culture just from a grocery store. I decided to dedicate this blog to the different products I saw and found interesting in a grocery store located in Stockholm.

The first thing that caught my attention were the two aisles at the front of the store, stacked with loads of candy. The photo of the wall above especially interested me because I’ve never seen containers of candy in the grocery store like this. In Sweden there is actually a tradition of Lördagsgodis (Saturday Candy). The idea to eat candy on Saturday came in the 1950s, inspired by the findings of the Vipeholm Experiments. From the Vipeholm Experiments they discovered that there was indeed a connection between sugar and dental health. Thus the Swedish Medical Board recommended that children were limited to eating sweets only one day a week, that day became Saturday.

This Aisle stacked with crisp bread also known as knäckebröd, was also hard not notice. Knäckebröd was once considered poor man's food but today it is often served during any of the three main meals of the day, alongside bread and butter. They are very versatile and come in various shapes, sizes and flavors.

Another aspect I noticed was the variety of cheese; I found this interesting because I've never heard of Sweden being known as big cheese eaters. There were two full aisles stocked with all different kinds of cheeses. I’ve also noticed that Swedish people really like having cheese at the table, with their Knäckebröd and bread.

Next to the cheese section were these kaviar tubes. Swedes love the slightly smoked, cod roe spread. I personally think that it's very tasty, but I would compare it to marmite in the way that it's the kind of food you either really like or dislike. Even if you're not a big fish eater, I would recommend trying it at least once. A popular way to eat it is on a piece of knäckebröd with some sliced hardboiled eggs.

These are Chokoladbolls (chocolate balls, covered in coconut shavings or pearl sugar) I would definitely recommend trying one with a coffee or tea at a cafe. If your feeling adventurous you could even try making them yourself because no heat is needed, all you have to do is mix the ingredients and refrigerate. "Magic"

And apparently this is jam, I'd never seen jam packaged in anything but jars before.

Next time you're in a different country and want to know a bit more about the food/culture, take a easy, fast, free trip to a local grocery store and possible disregard the free part by trying something quirky or intresting. You might just discover a new favorite food and if not, it's all an experience.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page